CITY COURT OFFICE

314 Amulet Street
Natchitoches, LA 71457
318-352-6666 Phone
318-352-6767 Fax

HOURS OF OPERATION

Monday - Thursday 8:30 a.m. - 4:30 p.m.
Friday 8:30 a.m. - 4:00 p.m.

City Court Judge
Honorable Fred S. Gahagan

Clerk/Court Administrator
Rhonda Roge'

Deputy Clerks
Susan Cloutier
Haley Pate
Shenita Goston


City Court

The Natchitoches City Court presides over Civil, Criminal, Traffic and Juvenile cases.  Civil claims include personal injury, contract, and landlord-tenant cases up to $25,000.  The Court also has criminal jurisdiction over misdemeanors that are offenses generally punishable by a fine of not more than $500 and/or a jail term of not more than six months.  All fines, costs, and forfeitures levied by the judges are collected by the Natchitoches Police Department and City Marshal.

The Natchitoches City Court is located at 314 Rue Amulet.  The court is open on all weekdays except holidays (listed below).  The clerk's office is open from 8:30 a.m. until 4:30 p.m. Monday through Thursday, and 8:30 a.m. until 4:00 p.m. Friday.

Guide to Practice

In order to assist litigants and attorneys using the Natchitoches City Court, the court has created this  "Guide to Practice" .  This document is not meant to be a definitive statement of the law nor may it be cited to the court as support for any position.  This document is merely a tool to be utilized to assist litigants and attorneys in access to the court.  Legal citations are provided to assist litigants and attorneys in their quest to determine applicable law and procedure.

Please be advised that the Supreme Court’s Uniform Forms Committee for Louisiana City and Parish Courts has posted a set of general, non-mandatory forms on the Information for Self-Represented Litigants page (link) on the Supreme Court’s website to assist both attorneys and self-represented litigants in city and parish courts statewide. These forms are basic templates of some – not all – forms commonly used in limited jurisdiction courts.

Civil Filing Fees

Filing New Suit  $250.00
     Each Additional Defendant  $50.00
Filing Answer $10.00
Filing Answer and Reconventional Demand or Third Party Demand  $250.00
Filing Petition for Garnishment   $150.00
Filing Eviction $175.00
Filing New Suit Less Than $1,000.00 $135.00
Issuing Writ of Fieri Facias  $50.00
Issuing Subpoena or Subpoena Duces Tecum $50.00
Motion to Examine Judgment Debtor or Motion for Summary Judgment $65.00

 

Holidays Observed

The following dates have been designated legal holidays and all court offices will be closed thereon. 

HOLIDAY 2017 2018
New Year's Day Monday, January 2, 2017 Monday, January 1, 2018
Martin Luther King Jr.'s Birthday Monday, January 16, 2017 Monday, January 15, 2018
Washington Birthday (Presidents' Day) Monday, February 20, 2017 Monday, February 19, 2018
Mardi Gras Tuesday, February 28, 2017 Tuesday, February 13, 2018
Good Friday Friday, April 14, 2017 Friday, March 30, 2018
Memorial Day  Monday, May 29, 2018 Monday, May 28, 2018
Independence Day Tuesday, July 4,2017 Wednesday, July 4, 2018
Labor Day Monday, September 4, 2017 Monday, September 3, 2018
All Saints Day Wednesday, November 1, 2017 Thursday, November 1, 2018
General Election Day *********************** Tuesday, November 6, 2018
Veteran's Day *********************** ***********************
Thanksgiving Day Thursday, November 23, 2017 Thursday, November 22, 2018
Friday after Thanksgiving Friday, November 24, 2017 Friday, November 23, 2017
Christmas Eve *********************** Monday, December 24, 2018
Christmas Day Monday, December 25, 2017 Tuesday, December 25, 2018
New Years' Eve *********************** Monday, December 31, 2018

 

Notes

  1. Additionally, each clerk of a district court, parish court, and city court shall close his office on all of the legal holidays provided on any day that the governor has proclaimed a legal holiday pursuant to R. S. 1:55(B)(3).
  2. Additionally, each clerk of a district court, parish court, and city court may close his office on any day an emergency situation has been declared by the governor or the local governing authority and governmental entities, including the courthouse, have been ordered to close pursuant to R. S. 1:55(E)1(b)
  3. If a proclamation is issued the Association office will post it on this website or you may obtain a copy from  www.gov.state.la.us pursuant to R. S. 1:55(E)1(c)